What are teachers talking about when they ask for scholarly articles?
- Are based on or include substantial research;
- Use the technical language of the discipline;
- Contain footnotes and/or a bibliography;
- Are written by experts on the subject;
- Identify the authors' academic credentials and affiliations;
- Are reviewed by an editorial board of scholars before being published.
They are found in publications:
- Whose contents are specialized;
- Published by universities or scholarly associations;
- With little or specialized advertising;
- Which often have the words "Journal", "Transactions", "Proceedings", or "Quarterly" in the title.
A peer-reviewed article is a particular form of scholarly article, usually in the sciences.
Databases often allow you to limit a search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Take advantage of that option.
See a librarian if you need assistance in searching for or identifying scholarly articles.
A-Z List of Databases
- Accessible Archives is a collection of 18th and 19th century newspapers and magazines including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the abolitionist newspaper, The Liberator, a collection of African American newspapers, and Godey’s Lady’s Book; also includes 19th century American county histories. Page images are available and text is fully searcheable.
- American History from ABC-Clio includes topical overviews, biographies, primary and secondary sources (including illustrations and film clips), timelines and chronologies, and thematic essays in American history.
- American History in Video is a collection of more than 5,000 videos: commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries. Included are PBS and History Channel titles, as well as NASA footage.
- American National Biography is an Oxford University Press database of biographies of approximately 19,000 men and women whose lives have helped shape the history of the United States, and includes illustrations, cross-references and linked websites. The biographies are limited to deceased individuals. Also included is access to the Oxford Companion to United States History.
- Ancestry provides online access to documents, including census reports, birth certificates, obituaries, wills and real estate documents, military records, and immigration and emigration records to facilitate the research of family history. Currently, Ancestry is available only through the FSS network.
- ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for teaching and research. You must set up an individual account while at FSS to insure home access.
- CultureGrams provides concise, current information on over 200 countries, including customs, languages, and government. In addition, there are data tables, a picture gallery, and an international recipe collection. There is also a world Kids edition for elementary age children, a U.S. states edition, and a Canadian provinces edition.
- Daily Life through History provides details of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history. Images and bibliographies are included. Also includes maps and illustrations, recipes, clothing patterns, songs, dances, and games of the time period.
- Discovery Education is a library of video and audio resources in science and health, history, world languages and literature, visual and performing arts, mathematics, and English. Included in the title list are some PBS titles, the History Channel, BBC America, Planet Earth and the Library of Congress. You must set up an account to be able to access the videos. Once you have an account, you may build a personal collection of resources for easy access. See a librarian for information on how to set up an account.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online combines the material of the print edition with over 27,000 images and 3,300 animations, audio clips and videos. A dictionary is directly accessible from any article and the site also hosts a world atlas and timeline. Spanish translation is available.
- Grove Art Online Images of works of art; articles on technique, history and schools of art, artists' and important patrons' biographies; timelines and thematic guides are all available for Western and non-Western art in the Grove Dictionary of Art from Oxford University Press.
- Historic New York Times allows full-text searching of the complete run of The NY Times from its 1851 inception through 2001, including weather, advertisements, and comics puts articles in context. Results are pdf format page images and have several viewing options.
- JSTOR is an archived backfile of over 700 important scholarly journals, a few going back to the eighteenth century, whose contents are available as pdf images. Disciplines range from the arts and humanities to math and science. Because JSTOR is not a current issues database, there is typically a gap of 1 to 5 years between the most recent issue and the latest back issue available through JSTOR.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries provide translations to and from Italian, Spanish, French, Portuguese, German, Polish, Russian,Thai, Korean, Chinese, Japanese and Arabic. To translate from one foreign language to another, use the Language Web option.
- POWERLibrary from AccessPA is a collection of databases availiable to library users statewide. Included are Contemporary Authors, E-books on EBSCOhost (the old NetLibrary collection), AP Images, Science Fulltext Select, GreenFILE, Consumer Health, OmniFile Select (100% full-text general magazine and journal database), and InfoTrac Newsstand (over 1,000 U.S. newspapers). From school, no login is required. From home, you must log in through your public library and authenticate with your public library barcode.
- ProQuest Research Library provides coverage from more than 2,000 newspapers, magazines, scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, and reference works. Included is full-text coverage of The Philadelphia Inquirer, The New York Times, the Village Voice, and The Wall Street Journal, The Guardian and the Financial Times of London, China Daily, and the Jerusalem Post, among others.
- Proquest Psychology Journals provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed journals and 4,000 dissertations in clinical and social psychology, as well as genetics, addiction, neurology, criminology and social welfare.
Science magazine is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal reporting original scientific research, global news in the sciences, and commentary. Included in the database is Science Express, which contains articles of note published online in advance of the print edition, as well as video and podcast material.
- World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras from ABC-Clio includes topical overviews, biographies, primary and secondary sources (including illustrations and slideshows), timelines and chronologies, and thematic essays in World History in the ancient and medieval eras.
- World History: The Modern Era from ABC-Clio includes topical overviews, biographies, primary and secondary sources (including illustrations and slideshows), timelines and chronologies, and thematic essays in World History in the modern era.
- World Religions: Belief, Culture and Controversy covers matters of belief, practice, celebrations and holidays, important individuals and events, and sacred places of religions around the world. Included are statistical information, primary documents, and scholarly articles on debates and issues related to religions.